The Mirror


I look in the mirror and what do I see?

Who is that person looking back at me?

I see many failures, I see many flaws

I see my actions like wounds wrapped in gauze

But I see my achievements in the mirror too

The heights I’ve climbed, to the values I’ve held true

and I look at a person much different than when

I last looked in the mirror, so I look again

and what do I see looking back from glass?

I see a leader, ready for any task.

About The Lost Poet

I write because I find inspiration. It is my hope that through my writing some connections may be felt. Everything I write comes from my experiences with life, and with the people that I love. I try to remember to see myself in everyone, and everyone in myself.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Mirror

  1. Jingle says:

    what a smart twist in the end,
    lovely poem,
    very enjoyable reading!
    🙂

    Like

  2. Jingle says:

    i will link you in,
    simply visit and comment for 18 poets from my participants list, those yellow links are more likely to give you feedback..
    😉
    have fun!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 24 (July 1-7, 2010) | Jingle

  4. Wow…great piece! I can so relate to your poem. Thanks for putting it into words. It’s just what I needed to see.

    Like

  5. I love this poem, it epitomizes the way I’ve been feeling lately – great. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Like

  6. brian says:

    a beautiful piece…it wonderful when we can see and appreciate the good qualities of the one that looks back at us in the mirror…nicely said.

    Like

  7. Ruhig says:

    Oh how the images change as the mind realizes. I enjoyed thank you.

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of June Award Nomination Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  9. hoiden says:

    great self analysis…best ending:)

    Like

  10. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    Great – nice piece and I love that it is a leader you see in that mirror….bkm

    http://signedbkm.blogspot.com

    Like

  11. ziibi says:

    I loved the twist at the end. I think we all go through those ups and downs. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  12. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/happy-belated-birthday-plus-get-well-soon-wishes-4-five-friends/

    please help visit 5 people,
    wishing them Happy Belated Birthday or Get Well Soon.
    Thank you in advance!
    cheers!

    Like

  13. Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this by myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

